The Board

Board Diversity Policy

The Board adopted its Board Diversity Policy in August 2013. Board diversity can be achieved through consideration of a number of factors, including but not limited to gender, age, cultural and educational background, or professional experience appropriate to the Company’s business model and specific needs.

The Nomination Committee will:

  • Discuss, agree and review annually all objectives for achieving diversity on the Board and recommend them to the Board for adoption;
  • Report annually, in the Corporate Governance Report of the Company’s annual report, a summary of the policy, the objectives set for implementing the policy, and the progress made towards achieving those objectives;
  • Review the policy, as appropriate, to ensure the effectiveness of the policy and discuss any revisions that may be required, and recommend any such revisions to the Board for consideration and approval.

Responsibilities and Duties

The overall management of the Group’s business is vested in the Board, which assumes responsibility for leadership and control of the Group and is collectively responsible for promoting success of the Group by directing and supervising its affairs. All Directors make decisions objectively in the best interests of the Group.

The Board takes the responsibility for all major matters of the Company including: the preparation of the accounts, the approval and monitoring of all policy matters, overall strategies, risk management and internal control systems, appointment and retirement of directors and other significant financial and operational matters. It regularly reviews the contribution required from a Director to perform his responsibilities to the Company, and whether he is spending sufficient time to perform his duties.

The executive Directors are responsible for overseeing the day-to-day management of the Group’s operations and implementation of the strategies set by the Board. The independent non-executive Directors participate in board meetings and serve on the audit, remuneration, nomination and corporate governance committees to bring an independent judgment on issues of strategy, policy, performance, accountability, resources, key appointments, standards of conduct and potential conflicts of interests.

As the Company is an investment company, investment management services have been delegated to the investment manager, namely, Oriental Patron Asia Limited; the custodian services have been delegated to the custodian Hang Seng Bank Limited. The delegated functions and performance are reviewed periodically by the Board.


Continuous Professional Development for Directors

All Directors should keep abreast of their responsibilities as Directors and the Company’s business and activities. The company secretary continuously updates all Directors on the latest developments regarding Listing Rules and other applicable regulatory requirements to ensure compliance of the same by all Directors. All Directors are also encouraged to attend relevant training courses and seminars that may require keeping abreast with the latest changes in laws, regulations and the business environment.

董事会

董事会成员多元化政策

董事会于2013年8月採纳董事会成员多元化政策。董事会成员多元化可透过考虑多项因素而达致,包括但不限于性别、年龄、文化及教育背景,或适用于本公司经营模式及特定需要的专业经验。

提名委员会将:

  • 每年讨论、协议及审阅为达成董事会成员多元化的所有目标的分析和意见,并建议董事会採纳;
  • 每年于本公司年报的企业管治报告内汇报该政策的概要、执行该政策的状况,以及达标进度;
  • 审阅相关政策,确保有关政策之效用,并就可能须作出之任何修订进行商讨,以及向董事会建议该等修订,以供其考虑及批淮。

董事会职责

董事会负责本集团业务之整体管理,通过制定发展方向及监督,承担领导及监控本集团之责任,并致力于使本集团迈向成功。全体董事均以本集团及全体股东之最佳利益为依归,客观地作出决定。

董事会对本公司所有主要事务负责,包括:编製账目、批淮及监督所有政策策略、风险管理及内部监控体系、董事之委任及退任及其他重要财务及营运事宜。董事会定期检讨董事就履行对本公司之责任须作出之贡献,以及彼是否投入充足时间履行本身责任。

执行董事负责监督本集团业务之日常管理及实施董事会制定之策略。独立非执行董事参与董事会会议,并参与审核、薪酬、提名及企业管治委员会,以就策略、政策、表现、问责性、资源、主要任命、行为准则及潜在利益衝突等,提出独立意见。

由于本公司为投资公司,投资管理服务委託予投资经理,即东英亚洲有限公司负责;而託管服务已委託予託管人恒生银行有限公司负责。所予委託之职能及其工作表现由董事会定期检讨。


董事持续专业发展

全体董事应时刻了解彼等作为董事的责任及本公司的业务和活动。公司秘书持续向全体董事提供有关上市规则及其他适用监管规定的最新发展消息,以确保全体董事遵守有关规则及规定,并鼓励全体董事出席可能需要了解最新法律、法规及营商环境的相关培训课程及研讨会。